Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

I can't seem to find a driver-operated throttle cruise control for my 1983Goldwing 1100 Interstate. First I don't know if my handlebar is 7/8? or 1 inch?...Think it is one inch but universal control I recently purchased didn't fit for some reason *that's what the bike techie told me?? I had one on this bike until a few years ago when it just wore out from use.....I am hoping someout out here can help as I hate having to hold onto the throtlle when cruising down an open stretch of highway.....:?

·
Premium Member
5,406 Posts
imported post

I used a throttle rocker and liked itmore than the cruise I now have.

·
Premium Member
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
imported post

What is a throttle rocker?? Never heard of it? How does it operate and is it user-friendly as I am not a mechanic in any way shape or form....Hope u reply,

Dave

·
Forum Diplomat
7,368 Posts
imported post

riddl..... I just did a 7000 mile tour on my Honda ST1300, which has a notoriously hard to manage throttle spring system...... what made things worse was that I was only three months out of rotator cuff surgery, which meant my hand, arm, and shoulder would cramp like the devil after 30 or 40 miles.

I found a simple NEP Cruise Control, which is a Zytel nylon friction lock. I had to mess with it some, but I got it to fit and it made the tour possible for me.... The best part is the price, $20 US........

http://www.kaboodle.com/reviews/nep-cruise-control-throttle-locks

You can buy them anywhere, but, if you can't find one, Aerostich in the U.S. has got them, item #1896

http://aerostich.com

·
Premium Member
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
imported post

Thanx bud....will check out the website....I wonder if I can get it to fit my Interstate?? This forum is great for quick replies and advice....Thanx again and hope the rc is healing well:waving:

·
Forum Diplomat