Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

need expert on LTD/SEI fuel injection

2K views 20 replies 8 participants last post by  JerryH 
#1 ·
imported post

I need to find someone who understands the fuel injection system on my LTD. I am a fairly decent mechanic, and have most of it figured out, but the part I am having trouble with is still a mystery to me. The manuals tell how to take it apart and put it back together, but they do not explain how it works. I do not have the genuine Honda manual.

This is about the reed valve system. It is a very simple design, at least until it reaches the AIR valve. It is a completely vacuum operated system. The AIR valve has a single wire attached to it, which appears to go to the ECM. Without this system, even with all the vacuum fittings plugged and the wire disconnected, the engine will not run below 3000 rpm.

My reed valves are bad, and I cannot find any more. Can someone explain to me in detail exactly what this system does, and is there any way to bypass it?

#2 ·
imported post

How was the bike running prior to this? I thought I had problems with my air valve, even replaced it and finally manually reduced the idle and I had no more problems.

#3 ·
imported post

The bike was running fine, but was making a squeak squeak squeak noise as it ran. I searched everywhere for the source of this noise, and finally found it. It was the reed valves. There is a short rubber hose which is MOLDED onto each reed valve assembly, and both of them had deteriorated to the point where they had cracked and split. The noise was coming from a pulsed vacuum leak at each reed valve.