Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi Everybody,

Once again, as a Goldwing rookie, I am asking for your help. I have a Garmin Quest GPS leftover from my Harley. I need to get it mounted properly on the new Goldwing. I have discovered two part numbers that look promising, but the websites don't tell many details about either. If anyone knows anything, please help.

Garmin has a motorcycle mount for the Quest. No details are given, but it looks like a cradle with wiring, but no definite way to attach it to the bike. Garmin part number 010-10610-00.

The other oneis a RAM mount, part number RAM-B-174-GA15U. It says it's for a Goldwing and the picture shows it clearly mounted in it's cradle, on a Goldwing, but I can see no wiring. I have written to RAM to ask about how it is powered, but they do not respond. I can see no power source. It looks like a very nice mount and just what I need, but I can see no way to get power to the unit. The Garmin mount has cradle and power wires, but no way to attach it to a bike. They do not appear to be compatible with each other.

I know that if I could see them, it would be obvious, but I hate to spend a bunch of money on the trial-and-error discovery system. I don't mind spending whatever it takes to get the job done right, but I don't want the expense or the aggravation of buying something that won't work. If anyone knows anything about either of these mounts, or can recommend any other good way to get the Quest onto the Goldwing, please give me your ideas.

I have the GoldwingGPS system, but there are many things that it cannot do, that the old Garmin can. I really need to get it on there.

Thanks for your help.....Thank you very much. You people are excellent!

Rick

·
Premium Member
6,947 Posts
imported post