Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

My rear brake caliper rebuild kit finally arrived and I started right in on rebuilding my gumbed up rear brake caliper on my 83' Aspencade- I got the old pistons out using compressed air (thanks for the tip forum members), got them cleaned up and got the old caliper all cleaned up.

But now that I'm putting it back together....I'm stuck! I hate to admit it but I can't figure out how to get the 2 rubber boots on sliding pin sleeve that's centered right below the two pistons. They have to fit into the grooves in the caliper and in the sleeve at the same time and on both ends.The new boots came with the rebuild kit, and I'll bet there's a trick to getting these dang things on without tearing them, I'm sure some of you guys have done this many times and dont have to give it a second thought. This is my first time with these.I've looked but am unable to find any previous posts on this problem.:baffled:

Also do you put grease on the sleeve before re assembling? Or just brake fluid?

Thanks to all for your input on this great site - It's a life-saver, and thanks in advance for your help with this problem

Max 5640

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

Max 5640 wrote:
My rear brake caliper rebuild kit finally arrived and I started right in on rebuilding my gumbed up rear brake caliper on my 83' Aspencade- I got the old pistons out using compressed air (thanks for the tip forum members), got them cleaned up and got the old caliper all cleaned up.