Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi all,

I am a new owner of a classic 1982 GL 1100 that a very good friend "donated" to me when he got himself a new 2009 GL 1800. I have enjoyed it much and ride it every day, though only short distances. About 2 weeks ago I noticed after each ride I began to smell like gas. I found there is a leak but not being a mechanic, I am uncertain of which part it is to call it by name. Sitting on the bike, it is on my right-hand side, just about parallel straight down from my right knee. The part has 2 hoses going into it and the metal piece they go into has two arrows indicating flow, one arrow pointing towards the bike, one away from it. There is a very small hole underneath this part and the hole does not look to be threaded so it does not appear that some plug or anything was previously there and fell out. I am suspecting this may well be the carburetor and that possibly the small hole underneath is something to do with the float that may be stuck and allowing gas to come out when the engine is on. It has a slow but steady drip when running, which becomes a more prevalent drip and sometimes light spray when throttled. I am somewhat mechanically inclined but have never worked on a bike engine prior. Please, any advice you can give me would be most helpful and totally appreciated. I can't let my friend's gift go for naught, so I am willing to study hard and learn all I need to know to maintain this classic. Thanks for your help in advance.

Dave

·
Piled Higher and Deeper
4,513 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the forum...

Hopefully a mod will move this to the tech forum..

nanadan7 wrote:
Hi all,