Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

hello goldwingers

my name is TIm and i would like to now if i am the only 18 year old in the world who owns a 1984 goldwing or any goldwing for that matter. I love every minute or riding it. this winter i am planning a lot of work to be done to it. i was considering a poor boy conversion. expect with out the kit because i am a ceritfied welder fabrocator and no stranger beside a lathe. i would like to know how many miles all of you have on your alternator conversion and how you like it. my stator i do not think is bad yet but the lights dim really bad when i apply the brakes and or the fan kicks on. i would like to hear what everybody has to say thank you

·
Piled Higher and Deeper
4,513 Posts
imported post

Welcome Tim!!

It will be interesting to see how many of the younger crowd will find this.. Probably not too many.... there are threads here that discuss goldwinger ages (do a search).. most likely, as long as you can get a license at 16, you will not be the youngest, but there are a few here that would consider you their peer in age..

Good luck on your projects.. and since you like metal/machine work, you might be interested also in some of the projects that you will find in the Reference and FAQ section..

Ohhhh... please add your location to your profile.. we like to know where our members call home.... Jim

·
Administrator
26,544 Posts
imported post

I've got socks older than you and so far you are the youngest Goldwing owner I have heard of. The PO of the 83 I had got it when he was 19.
Proving my age I forgot what I intended to add when I posted this originally.
Check the water level in your battery and take it to a parts store and have it tested to be sure it's up to par before you go to the trouble of installing a poor boy kit.

·
Premium Member
12,790 Posts
imported post