Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Old School Guru
7,887 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi everyone, just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Gene Lester from Harker Heights, Texas and I found your forum very interesting and entertaining. I just bought a 81 GW Interstate, and your forum has already answered any questions that I could think of. I had not ridden in several years, and before I start riding I will be taking the MSF course just to catch up. The last bike I owned was a 550/4 Honda and that was back in the eighties. I started riding in the 60's on a Yamaha 100 2 stroke street bike. I had been thinking of riding again since now all my kids are grown and gone and I had started to actively look at bikes and was looking at getting a 750 when I came across this Interstate for $1500 in really good condition, everything works, engine runs good, brand new tires and battery. I just couldn't walk away from it,and even though it is bigger than I was looking for,it was love at first sight. I've put about 50 miles on it on the back roads and once moving I have no problems, just getting use to the size and weight at slow speeds will take me a little longer, but I am not in any hurry.

On a personal note, my background is in computers and at one time I was a auto mechanic with experience in high performance engines of the late 60's to late 70's when I wasn't serving my country as a helecopter mechanic. Injured my back jumping out of perfectly good helecopters and it causes too much pain to be bent over the engine compartment of a car for long times, so in the late eighties got started playing with computers as a hobby and after retiring from the army in 98, started working on them full time. I specialize in hardware and Windows problems, so if anyone needs some advice just e-mail me.

Gene:)

·
Premium Member
56 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the forums GLester