Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I just picked up my 1986 GL1200 Aspencade SE-i a little less than a month ago. I am the 4th owner and it had slightly under 45,000 miles on it when I originally got it. I rode the bike about 50 miles home the day I bought it and it runs great for the age it is. I am new to riding and got my first bike in April of this year (Yamaha Bolt R-Spec). I have a little over 4000 miles road experience with that bike and the Goldwing is my first experience with a touring bike. My ultimate goal with the Goldwing is to tour neighboring states and ride two-up comfortably with my lady.

The information on these forums have been helping me in many ways. The bike has minor issues that mostly revolve around aging rubber components and the how-to posts here have been great. So far I rebuilt the rear air suspension with new seals/ATF and changed the final drive oil on my first project with the bike. I currently have the front fork torn apart and I am waiting for a few parts in the mail to properly rebuild them later this week. The right front fork tube was leaking badly and almost empty of fluid, I'm excited to see how the bike rides with proper fluid and new seals.

The next issue I need to tackle is fixing the absent temperature reading on the dash. The previous owner gave me a replacement thermostat, so I hope changing that will solve the issue and give me a reading. While having the radiator off I plan to replace the hoses and look for other potentially worn components.

Below is a picture of my dog next to the Goldwing right before I started tearing the front fork apart.

IMG_20191211_111522.jpg

·
Premium Member
3,401 Posts
Older bikes (even with low mileage) usually always need some mechanical attention. Some more than others.