Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi Folks. I have just bought a 77 1000cc. 44k miles, looks great runs good. The PO is a friend that knows a lot about wings of all years. He works on them all the time. He rebuilt or cleaned the carbs and tuned it up fairly well. He helped me do the time belt and I changed the fluids, new plugs etc...
When the bike is cool it runs great but after it warms up / hot ,the idle seems to get a bit higher. at warm start up it takes a few seconds for the idle to be proper, high idle for a few secs.
The fan is on a toggle switch, I turn it on when I am stopped and the temp gauge shows hi-warm. Is this OK ?
If I leave the bike on the side stand the low pipe smokes a bit @ start up.
My friend says this is all pretty normal. IS THIS TRUE? Otherwise the bike seems to run great. My ?? Is this normal ?
My background is 40 years of of riding, I have owned over 150 motorcycles. Most of them Honda and Harley. This is my first gl1000.
I like this bike and want to keep it as my daily rider. I just want to know I am safe and the bike is acting the way it should.
Thank you for any input re. my concerns. THE BIG ? What about this hot idle issue.

Randayn

·
Gregarious Greeter
16,809 Posts
imported post

[align=center]

[/align]
[align=center]Welcome aynrand[/align]

·
Banned
12,287 Posts
imported post

aynrand wrote:
I just want to know I am safe and the bike is acting the way it should.
...my suggestion: put the fan back on the bikes fan (temperature) switch. Why risk it?

·
Premium Member
231 Posts
imported post

They'll smoke a little at 1st when parked on the side stand(what I've been told anyway). This is normal. Not sure about your idle issue. Sounds like it could be running rich. Do you need the choke when you 1st start her up? If not, it's definately running rich. It could also be a vacuum leak among other carb issues.

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
imported post