Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

My story: I am bikeless at the moment, but looking. I found this forum while searching for possible new mounts. I have been riding for 30+ years on all types
of 2 and 3 wheelers, on and off road. The most pure fun I've had on a motorcycle was road racing andinstructing at track days here in the Midwest area.My needs are changing now, along with what my body is capable of,so I'm looking for a touring bike that my wife and I could do weekend trips on. Obviouslya Wing would be more than cushy enough for her and my sore back, but I need something that still handles well.

So, my question: Is it possible to make a bike this big handleand stop well? Have folks modded the suspension tofirm things up a bit and get some more ground
clearance? Are different brake pads available?Some friends are advising me to look
at a 2009 and up Road King as Harley hassupposedly improved the touring frame, but I can't seem to get next to that idea. Also considering Dual Sports, such as a GS or the new Yamaha Tenere. I'm told they can be made comfy for a pillion.
My first full size bike was an '01 Interstate, so I guess I am being drawn back to my roots with investigating what Honda now has to offer.

Thanks for listening and point me in the right direction if this has been discussed elsewhere. I'm from the Chicago area, so if there are locals that would like totalk, PM me.

·
Premium Member
68,164 Posts
imported post

WELCOME:waving::waving::waving:

·
Premium Member
12,779 Posts
imported post

Hello and Welcome

If you post your question in the General Forum I think you will have possibly more response . Many folks dont always look here .

You may have seen this video as its been around a while . Its an 1800 being thrashed about on the DragonsTail : deals gap on a goldwing/gl1800 by yellow wolf dragons tail - YouTube