Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Saying hello from North Carolina. I'm real close to buying my first Goldwing but don't know if I'm getting a fair deal. It's an '83 Interstate with 83,000 miles. It hasn't been riden since last year but it will crank, as long as you keep blipping the throttle, but won't idle. This may straighten itself out if it's riden some, or it may need the carbs cleaned. I guess the the biggest problem is that the "nut" cut the bars that holds the trunk on, off. Something I could easily fix with a piece of bar to splice it and a welder. He says it had a custom paint job with some sort of Indian painted on it that he did not like, so he sanded the tank, fairings, and bags, and painted them with a rattle can. Something else I can easily fix (I'm a painter). It shows some old gas that's leaked on the engine cases on the right side just above where your foot is when it's on the peg (maybe at the fuel pump?).
I can get it for about $1000. Does anyone have an opinion. Thanks for your time. I'm very eager to hear what current owners think and hope to join your klan very soon.

·
Premium Member
20,611 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the Forum from Kansas!!! :waving:

I hope you find the Forum as informative and as much fun as we do!!:cooldevil:

Again, Welcome Aboard!!
:action:

I used to live in King until 2004 and worked in the Fire Department......I do miss the area a lot! If I can help you in anyway, let me know!!!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

Wow, that's our fire truck! That's pretty cool, coming all the way from Kansas.
What do you think about the Goldwing I'm considering? Any thoughts?

·
Premium Member
4,472 Posts
imported post

Welcome Aboard!:waving: