Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

I am looking to buy a Glodwing for the first time! Have owned Harleys but they are to loud and unrelibable! Can someone tell me what would be the most reliable year for the Goldwing history! I am not looking at a new one, way too expensive! I am a mechanic and able top fix just about anything! I would apricate everyones openion! Thanks!

·
Premium Member
209 Posts
imported post

Well WELCOME aboard,new myself but you will get plenty of info here.I do think you will enjoy the Wing when you decide on which one.I'am trying my luck with the 84 Interstate,was a good buy and a bit of a project but it will let me know how I feel about the Wings.So far so good,like you mechanic by trade so figure what I dont know I will learn.Just hang tight you will get lots of help here and very good info.Enjoy your day and once again WELCOME:waving:

·
Premium Member
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
imported post

Thank you for your reply dodgedartlover! Not many of those left here in Canada!have a great day to!

·
Premium Member
1,846 Posts
imported post

Any year is a good year when it come to wings. Depending on your buget get as new as you can afford. The older the bike the harder to fine parts. I would look for a 98-2000 1500 or a 2005 ish 1800 if in your price range. I have had an '84 1200 I, a '94 1500SE and 2010 188 trike. All are great bikes but the newer ones have a lot of improvement over the older ones. Ride safe and enjoy. Welcome to the site

·
Premium Member
280 Posts
imported post

I couldn't afford an 1800, so I bought a 2000 Se, the last year of the 1500. Very happy with it. Look around this website, there is a section that covers each model in detail.

·
Premium Member
1,082 Posts
imported post

They are all good bikes. That in mind remember that the GL1200 had stator problems and some early GL1800 had issues with the frame cracking.

·