Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Just found this forum this morning and hope I can get some help. I love touring and Goldwing/silverwing type bikes. My problem is the weight. I ride my best friends 78 GW from time to time and it's great on the highway, but a bit much in parking lots and such (i'm a 5' 7"/140lb rider, but a 32" inseam). I'm not a new rider. I've been riding since 1975 and have owned a number of different bikes the largest being a KZ-900 (again way to heavy) and have about 1/2 million miles under my belt (give or take).

Last year we went to Niagara falls from indiana (I was on an 05 Honda Rebel) and the trip was a little over 1500 miles. We had a great time, but the Rebel although great for someone my size and weight has it's limitations and I wanted something with enough power for 2-up riding also.

My solution was to create a low weight Goldwing wannabe and I purchased a new Suzuki S50 Boulevard as the base vehicle (443lbs). This is a pretty strong bike capable of low 13's in the 1/4 mile which i'm really not interested in anymore, but it has the umph to get up if I need to. So far i've installed a national cycle street sheild that works pretty well and 12v plugs for some accessories. I have ordered a set of progressive shocks for a better ride (haven't recieved them yet). I plan on getting floorboards in the next month or so, but the hard part and mainly the reason i'm here is hard bags. So far the only ones i've found who make hard bags for the intruder is Badapple and Tsukayu. Does anyone have any experience with these hard bags? They look pretty good and I'm going to have them painted to match the bike. Later on i'll be adding a trunk and better passenger seat arrangement.