Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I am new to this site. I am a decent mechanic and technician with all my other toys and eager to learn what I need to know about my new 1996 GW SE. I say new because it only has 20k miles and is immaculate. First order of business was to change all fluids including final drive oil which I used mobil 1 syn 75W90. I found alot of gunk in the clutch reservoir and cleaned it as well.
My first question is: Should I change the timing belt in spite of the low miles and clean garaged condition of this bike? I am sure it is the original. A local mechanic has said No it doesnt need it. I don't neccesarily trust that assessment after 16 years belt age. Thank you in advance for your welcome advice and opinions. MD.:bow:

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Santa has traded in his sleigh

You guys are GREAT! Thanks a bunch and I'm on it! My handle comes from the Ranger bass boat original bass master classic built in the mid 70s I bought after high school and still fishing it. I keep my mechanical soulmates for a long time and always preferred to use something with a ton of memories. It sounds like 'me an the wing' are gonna be good ol' friends and I look forward to talking with you all. Thanks for the welcome!

Attachments

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thankyou Seasoned Wingers