Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. First, I never owned a Gold Wing or even a touring bike. I have been riding for over 40 years, had 30+ motorcycles but have not been riding much lately. Ok, I hope this is not a bad word, I have had an old Kawasaki ZX-11 for 3.5 years and in that time I put a grand total of 1000 miles on it. Well I put an ad on Craigs List to sell the ZX or trade it for a tourer. I thought maybe I would try a touring bike to see if I would ride more but I did not want to get a lot of money into something that may be just going to set around. Anyway, I get an offer to trade for a 82 or 83 Interstate (Guy was not sure of the year..:?). So without even seeing it, I said okay! :praying: We are supposed to meet in 2 days to close the deal. The fellow sounds pretty honest and says it is in good shape with 40K on it.

I have worked on enough bikes in the past to listen to what owners say. The two things I heard about Gold Wings of this era were some electrical issues with the charging system and make sure the timing belts are serviced regularly. That is how I found this site. I did a search for timing belt servicing. Although I never did a belt change on a Gold Wing, I have done cars including VW TDI belts. Thanks for listening and I am sure I will be asking a ton of questions. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
12,063 Posts
Welcome to the forums Saleen332. Belts and Stator would be
the first things I'd check

·
Premium Member
17,087 Posts
Howdy and welcome to the forum neighbor! :waving:

Working on an 1100 is just about as fun as riding one. Takes more time to remove the Tupperware than it does to change the belts. Charging system is no problem on an 1100 as long as you make sure the 3 yellow wires from the stator are soldered together rather than reply on the plug.

A lot of info and help can be found here so look around!

·