Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello all. I'm a newbie and finally got a wing.I scanned through the post and wasn't sure if my problem is linked with other issues posted. I'm a new winger with zero experience and expertise. Bike will not start without jump and typically sounds like weak or bad battery. Seems to be worse after engine has warmed. Bike will jump start with no problems (I carry a portable battery starter in my saddlebag to start) and starter turns and starts fine. With jump, there is no drag or hesitation with starter, but from reading posts I see a possible starting/chargingmaintenance/repair in my future. Performed leakage test IAW manual by disconnecting NEG battery lead and taking voltage reading across disconnected battery NEG lead and NEG battery post. I read the 12.47 volts which is the same as what I read across the POS and NEG post of the battery when disconnected. Have been told I need to check amperage draw also and someone mentioned possible problem with the clock, because it is powered with ignition off. Does this mean I have a short somewhere in the system on circuits that power with ignition off? I still have the much discussed plug with three yellow wires for the stator and the dog bone type fuse (All factory connections with no mods that I can tell). I have purchased a new battery, but want to make sure I should actually get "0" volt reading on leakage test, or I will simply drain the new battery. Hope I don't sound too stupid, but please help. You guys are "THE SOURCE" for everything Goldwing and I send tons of respect.

·
Premium Member
332 Posts
imported post

your problem is common, as the problem lies with the wiring of the connetions to and from the stator, also the main fuse need to be replaced with a 30 amp car type fuse.