Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Premium Member
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

This June (2012), I have a weeklong training session in Oklahoma City. I've had these training sessions in OKC before and even drove the car once,but this time I am thinking of riding the bike up there from Jensen Beach, Fl. (about mid way up on the east coast).

Never took a trip that long, neither has my wife, but we are both excited about doing this. Since I am a newbie to long-distance stuff, and without loading me down too much...what should I bring for repair on my 1995 aspencade with about 60k miles on it?

All fluids, etc. will be checked and a good preflight will be performed, but what can I expect enroute that might be surprising and something that, perhaps you didn't plan for when you took a similar trip?

Leaves a lot open, I know, but I need good info on long distance travelling with a 1500.

Thanks in advance!

·
Just another ORF!
8,189 Posts
imported post

Only thing you'll need if you've gone over your bike thoroughlyis your clothes, a credit card and a cell phone.

Only thing that I can see coming up unexpectedly is a flat tire and I doubt you're going to change that on the side of the road, other than to plug/inflate the tire, so get a good tire plug kit and either a compact 12V compressor, or know how to use the one on the bike with an air hose.

·
Premium Member
69 Posts
imported post