Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

any thoughts on using nitrogen in tubeless tires on a goldwing? several tire dealers around here recommend it.

·
Premium Member
529 Posts
imported post

what ever floats your boat. some will swear by it, others will say it does not make any difference.

·
Premium Member
580 Posts
imported post

Scam. Check your pressure regularly.

John

·
Premium Member
1,136 Posts
imported post

It's used in aircraft tires where the temperature can change quickly from +120 degrees to -55. The nitrogen is completely free of any moisture that will condense and freeze. For road vehicles? A marketing sales pitch.

·
Premium Member
599 Posts
imported post

I've been using 79% nitrogen in tires since 1951.

·
Premium Member
1,136 Posts
imported post

I found tons of info on the web, and as expected, there are 2 points of view. Here is one interesting site:
http://www.straightdope.com/columns...-fill-your-tires-with-nitrogen-instead-of-air
I just learned why my new truck tires have green valve caps!!! And here I gave those valve caps to my wife because I thought they were ugly and she thought they were pretty. So now they are on her car. I had no idea they meant the tires were filled with nitrogen.

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
imported post

Besides Nitrogen being an inert gas and Dry, The thought is that the Nitrogen Molecules are larger than air. So leaking or permeation through the rubber sidewalls was much less.

Here is a paper among many that tells of this.

http://www.getnitrogen.org/pdf/graham.pdf

·
Administrator
26,988 Posts
imported post

Snake oil. After we got a nitrogen machine where I work and I figured out how it works I figured this; If you over pressure your tires and wait for the oxygen and other gasses to leak out you have nitrogen. That is exactly how the machine works, only faster.

·
Premium Member
1,299 Posts
imported post

I like helium.

·