Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
351 Posts
Using a multi-meter check the battery voltage. Anything less than 10v usually wont power up the electrical components.

Check the main fuse, usually just downstream from the battery.
Check ALL the fuses and relays and replace any bad ones.

As much "background/history" with this bike would be very helpful for us to know too.

·
Premium Member
3,389 Posts
I have 85 lined that was give to me I have no power at all battery is good . I am new to the Goldwing group
Check the flat 30 amp dogbane fuse mounted to the top side of starter relay beside the battery, it's under a cover. The fuse is metal, the housing holding it is plastic, it's attached by two screws, it can crack or break from differing rates of expansion during heat / cool cycles of bike. Once the bike is started, it'll run without that fuse, but without that fuse, there is no power to the ignition switch to trip the relay with when start button is hit. If found "bad", you can use a HD fuse holder, two ring terminals, and a 30 amp auto fuse in place of it.

·
Premium Member
3,389 Posts
30 amp dog-bone fuse I meant to say above. I think the sight changed the second o to an a?

Look in my picture, it's that S shape with 30 notation in shaded start relay box, it protects bike wiring from battery voltage in case of shorts. As you can see, it is not in line between the voltage regulator / rectifier and bike when running, but if blown or cracked, bike will show no signs of electrical power if not running.

·
Premium Member
3,359 Posts