Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello All

I have a 82 GL1100I that I went through and brought back from the dead. Now that I have about 1800 miles on it. I am questioning the temp gauge. It has been in the low 80's here in Oregon and while on the hwy at speed my temp gauge reads just above the first nick mark above the blue. When I get into traffic and stop and go it will go past center but not into the red. THe fan does come on but the temp comes down a little but not what I would expect with the fan on. When I get back up to speed it will come back down to what I at this point consider the normal spot.

Since I am new to goldwings is the correct reponse for this engine?

The radiator has been flushed as well as the engine with new hoses. The thermisat is old and I have been considering replacing it. Your thoughts?

Thanks

Marty

·
Premium Member
17 Posts
imported post

Sounds right. No need to replace the thermostat

·
Premium Member
1,046 Posts
imported post

Just like mine!

·
mr irrelevant
2,205 Posts
imported post

Sounds just fine, mine did exactly the same..

·
Premium Member
1,522 Posts
imported post

thats what sounds like to be right... keep on riding.

·
Premium Member
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
imported post

Thanks all for the feedback. Just wanted to make sure. I ride everyday to work with it and right now the weather is perfect. How all on the east coast and mid west or doing ok with the heat.

Take care

Marty

·
Premium Member
1,522 Posts
imported post

just make sure your fan keeps working after the gauge reaches just over half way mark. fan should shut off when it gets back close to the halfway mark..

·
Premium Member
410 Posts
imported post