Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding motorcycles for 16 yrs. Goldwings for 15 yrs. Two nights ago I rode in the worse rainstorm ever on my way home from work at 10:30pm. I had my bright yellow Frogg Toggs on which kept me dry and the full face helmet did a good job too, but within a quarter mile of leaving in the moderate rainstorm(first time on this bike), while in 3rd gear and just getting ready to shift into 4th, (rpms up) I hit 18 inches deep (couldn't see but felt it)of water. At that same time a car to my left also hits it and showers me with the spray. Bike bogged way down but I kept rpms up because I didn't want to tip over. After about 30 ft I came out of it only to hit it again 20-40 feet later same scenario. Front end was like a snowplow pushing the water away as I rode through. Last night I paid more attention as to where the drains were and yep thats where the non flooded area was. Bike is running okay now but it messed up my sensors for my after market gages(oil pressure and temp). Voltmeter spiked and held at 18 volts for a good 6 miles before coming back down to normal range. I'm not sure alternator would go that high so I'll take it as faulty gage even though that wiring is high and dry. I was glad to have a fuel injected engine versus a carb as I'm not sure bike would have kept running.

·
Premium Member
948 Posts
Was riding on the Interstate once with the wife when it started to downpour. We slowed down and a semi passed us. After passing us an enormous sheet of water came off the semi trailers roof and we rode right into it. I rode on, blinded by the water for quite a distance.

Scott

·
Administrator
58,211 Posts
I have ridden through some extremely hard rains, but never had to wade through a deep amount of water like that.