Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 117 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,079 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

As you can tell, I am new to the Wings so I will have many questions. I had a 79 wing for about a year but sold it for financila reasons. I recently purchased an 84 Asp with 14,101 miles on it.

I would like to ask foropinions on running synthetic oil inmy engine. Is there any harms / benifits to doing this?

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
imported post

csanders67217 wrote:
As you can tell, I am new to the Wings so I will have many questions. I had a 79 wing for about a year but sold it for financila reasons. I recently purchased an 84 Asp with 14,101 miles on it.

I would like to ask foropinions on running synthetic oil inmy engine. Is there any harms / benifits to doing this?
Welcome to the forum.

Go to the top of the page and do a search for, "oil type" or "synthetic" and you'll get a plethora of opinions. My advice: change it often... that's all I'll say.

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

Marco's right, every motorcycle in the world is full of discussion about oil and tires. Of course there's never any single answer so search as Marco said, toss a coin, consult a chicken's innards or whatever, but do use oil of some kind. So far we haven't had anyone vouch for olive oil or oil of olay!:cheeky1:

·
Premium Member
626 Posts
imported post

The general opinion is that synthetic is not the best bet for old Wings, makes the gearbox clunkier and engine noisier. By the way, welcome to the forum csanders67217.

·
Premium Member
879 Posts
imported post

exavid wrote:
Marco's right, every motorcycle in the world is full of discussion about oil and tires. Of course there's never any single answer so search as Marco said, toss a coin, consult a chicken's innards or whatever, but do use oil of some kind. So far we haven't had anyone vouch for olive oil or oil of olay!:cheeky1:

But Oil of Olay makes the engine feel so much smoother.

·