Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I was throwing out someold photosand came across this 20yr old photo taken when I was a traffic cop in the 1980's. Few changes since then and I actually had a little hair with a smaller waistline.

·
Premium Member
2,148 Posts
imported post

Littlejohn:waving:, Neat picture, you look like you could get the job done....:whip:

dean_3326 :12red::cooldj:

·
Premium Member
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

This was one of the easiest bike I know to work on. One bolt either side of the air cooled engine to take off and everything easy to work at. This particular bike did 80,000 hard ridden miles catching speeders with no recalls, was used every day hail, rain or sun and very rarely let me down. Top speed 102Mph was the only handicap for a Traffic Bike but isn't it clean considering the mileage and age??

·
Premium Member
1,153 Posts
imported post

Hey Littlejohn, I didn't know that the Irish police used BMWs. I always thought they were Triumph, then Honda users.

·
Premium Member
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
imported post

Up North they used the BMW R80RT bacause of it's simple German 2nd World war engine design which was veryeasy to maintain whilst capable of taking quite a lot of abuse. They were used right up to about 1992 when they moved over to Honda Pan European ST1100's because they got a good deal from Honda who were building a purpose built police spec bike complete from the factory with all the equip needed on board. The BMW was very agile and easy to ride over long periods of time whilst the Honda was quite heavy and hard work at times but the difference in performance was amazing with the Honda leaps ahead.

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

Littlejohn, you're a strong, brave man, it's getting so I can't bear to look at a 20 year old picture, the great downhill slide of time seems to be gaining momentum!

·