Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I'm a newbie to the forum and have just bought my very first Goldwing. It's a 1982 GL 1100 Aspencade with 25,000 km (15,000 miles). I bought it from an older gentleman that had a stroke and can't safely ride it anymore. He was riding it right up until last summer, so it starts good etc, but I haven't had it on the road as yet (full winter up here in Ontario Canada). I have started to strip it down so that I can check it over, plus clean up all the chrome - I think it has every piece you can purchase. The original paint is 2 tone brown and in good shape, but with the obvious scratches etc. I would like to get it painted and this leads me to my question. If I change the colour, say to a midnight blue, will this take away from the value. I would like to keep the bike as pure as possible, but I really dislike brown. Any thoughts?

·
Token Canuk
8,236 Posts
imported post

Welcome Kevin from eastern Ontario :waving:, Put your location in your profile & you'll find out who your neighbors are. As for your paint job, are you concerned about the value to you or someone else, if the Blue is what you like personally - I say go for it, if you are thinking of resale value, perhaps the "original" colour would be fitting. :action::action::action:

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

Thanks and I have updated by profile.

I have no immediate plans to sell, but I will probably want to upgrade to a newer model at some point.

·
Premium Member
1,846 Posts
imported post

Hi Kevin, and welcome to the site. If you wan a "classic" bike than you need to keep the brown. If you just want a cool looking ride than pick your own color. I guess it all depends on what your plans for the future of this bike are. Of course this is just MHO Welcome again from Tidewater, VA

Ritchie & Lyn :waving::waving:

·
Premium Member
1,969 Posts
imported post