Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I amconsideringbuying a Goldwing. My wife and I are doing alot more long distance riding. Ihavebeen toldthe Goldwing is the ultimate touring bike. I have been riding for many years and currently riding a Harley. As we all know it isonly a matter of time before you drop yourbike.My current Harley weighs about 800lbs.I am 57 ys old, 5'9' tall and weight about 175 and I have managed picking up my Harley. I have droped it 3 times and needed help only oncebecause it washeavy side down on a steep hill. Sincea Goldwing 1800 tips the scales at 900+ lbs depending on options, I was wondering how easy is it to pick up if droped?Thesaleman said it was easy but he has never owned a Goldwing or seen it done.He also said there is video of it on Youtube, but I cound not find it. I helped a Goldwing owner about 10+ years ago pick one up and it took 3 of us.Sodifficult is it?

·
Premium Member
191 Posts
imported post

hey thats a great lil video...i have dropped my 83 once and managed to pick it up myself. i didnt have alot of weight on it though and i was on level ground but it was in gravel. just be careful. if your anything like me the back is a fragile thing:(

welcome to the forums

·
Premium Member
6,097 Posts
imported post

I can't say about the 1800 but at 5'-0 and 185 my 1200 is a PITA.

With the engine guards and saddle bag guards the bike has only gone to the handle bars twice. Most times it's at a 45 degree angle and I've managed it myself.

Both times it went to the handle bars it broke off a mirror and I had to have help.

Welcome to the forum. I hope you get that Goldwing and enjoy some of the best touring you can imagine.

·
Premium Member
250 Posts
imported post

Hi Math1,