Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Aloha,

Here goes.......I ordered a pair of PS air shocks that they say fit my '84.they measure 14.25" eye center to eye center. The stock shocks on the bike measure 13.5" eye to eye.

The PS shocks are too long to swing into position on the mount clevis with the swing arm at its lowest position. PS insists that the 14.25" measurement is correct and that there is no 13.5" option for the '84.

I have been a bike mechanic so I am not uninformed in such things.....but I am at a loss to understand the fitment problem. It could be something obvious I'm just not seeing.

Anyone else experience this problem? HELP!!!!!!:?

Roadkiil

·
Registered
2,795 Posts
imported post

Dunno which modle you have, but perhaps there is a Preload Adjustment on them? If so, then perhaps by adjusting That, then the length will change.

(Grasping at straws)

·
Still Learning
13,270 Posts
imported post

Maybe a PO replaced the original shocks with shorter shocks to make up for being short in stature.
Welcome and Aloha to you Roadkill,

Do you have the rear wheel off?
Is the bike on the c-stand or a bike jack?
The swing arm should swing down that far. If the wheel is on, maybe your c-stand mount is rusted and the c-stand is going past the stop pad point from being weak and rolling backwards. There are a few posts on that having happened, you might ought to check that out, I hope you have a bike jack as it would be wise if that is the case. You should use a bike jack, pull the wheel and do a good inspection of the frame back under there. And don't be Shopkilt.
Hope that helps bro.
God Bless

·
Junior Grue
8,153 Posts
imported post

13.5" is the stock length and from the PS site
The shock recommended is slightly longer than stock. This may alter the head angle slightly and give somewhat quicker steering. Extended clearances should be checked as well.