Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

Pulled a Rookie Mistake Today . . . . . . . .

5K views 38 replies 28 participants last post by  PapaCookieJar 
#1 ·

So, I have been riding bikes since 1968, 50 years. Over those years I have owned and ridden many bikes.

Today I was out West for a ride and stopped for a drink of water and a leg stretch. After I was finished I mounted up and tried to start the bike, nothing just nothing. I had just stopped about 30 minutes before and started with no problem.

So I fussed with the key, I fussed with the shifter, I fussed with the reverse lever, I fussed with just about everything I could think of to no avail. So I grabbed my water bottle and had another drink and walked around the bike, don't know what I expected to see.

But I did see something, the kill switch was flipped to one side, Rookie Mistake. I never use the thing, to shut off the bike I just leave it in gear and put the side stand down.

Oh well that is better than trouble shooting and chasing electrical gremlins !

See less See more
#6 ·
I never use that damn off/on/off switch
I have been tempted to bypass it permanently, and then watch and wait for the Open Mouths that watch me start the bike and ride off....

they know they turned it to OFF.....

some time back, someone turned it off for me as a joke, but that day, I was not in any humor for folks messing with my bike.
and I let be known, that friends do NOT screw around with someone else's bikes, period...

I did not take it well that day. that bike has never refused to start in 2 years.

#8 ·
I've NEVER done that once!
3 or 4 times maybe, but not once!

#11 ·
Engine cutoff switch

I also hate using the "kill switch".

But, when I taught the MSF course we had to call it the "engine cutoff switch".
@#% lawyers!

Anyway the rational for using the engine cutoff switch was, in an emergency, or a tip over, you would instinctively hit the cutoff switch instead of the key switch. Save your engine etc....