Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

My 99 1500 has asurging and hesistation problem, figured it was the carbs.I don't have the time to fix it so I made the appointment at the shop I bought it from. They were going to work on it yesterday, I call them today to see how things are going and the owner tells me the carbs were clean, checked the vacuum hoses and put thing back togather and stillruns like crap, but also says the exhaust goes away at higher RPMs. I'm not a rocket scientist (or a Goldwing mechanic) butthe exhaust has to go somewhere, and usually out the mufflers. He says they are now checking the PAIR control valves.

Hasanyone ever heard of this? I searched the forum and can'tanything on this. Or is he just stalling me (hopefully).

Tom

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

hi tom the surging can be the choke valves sticking blocked jets vacume leak , bad air filter, float hight wrong ,ect ect get him to check the air valve sub filter it has a habit of rotting and geting sucked into the air system also a lot of guys here have discovered the idle ajuster is sticking also i dont under stand the exhaust please explain this

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
imported post

I was alittle baffled by the exhaust thing. He told me that at idle the engine exhausted out the mufflers as normal. When he increased the RPMs the exhaust seems to go away :?. Where does it go I asked? It has to come out somewhere. He said there is a system similar to an EGR system they need to check. I changed the sub filter, air filter, sparkplugs, I even bought a Motion Pro manometer and balanced the carbs all the easy stuff. Non of that did it. We have a trip planned in a week and I needed to get it done, so I desided to hire it done. Not that I'm rich but I hate working oncarburators. This has me puzzled, I just hope he's not trying to extort extra money out of me.

Tom

·