Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

so yesterday my bike was starting fine, i took off my false tank. and everything stopped working, nothing happened when i turned key in the ignition. i figure when i was putting the tank back on i bumped something, well my relay is sitting right there.

so i started playing with my relay, when i connect the hot wire(30) with the wire going to the ignition(87) everything lights up like it should (even if the ignition is not turned on) i can start thebike up doing this.

so i thought maybe my relay was broken so i went and bought a new one hooked up all up and everything and same deal. so i had this same problem 2 years ago and i have a few ignition switches sitting around, so changed this out (put on a brand new in the box switch) didnt make a difference. However i cheated againand touched the 30 to the 87, and i let the bike run doing this i then removed the piece of metal i was connecting them with and the bike continued to run however it would not start like this.

does anyone have any suggestions? i really cannot figure this out?

·
Premium Member
39 Posts
imported post

Check all grounds for solid contact.

·
Premium Member
4,328 Posts
imported post

Sounds like something in your starter switch broke loose? Try jumping the wires at the switch end and see if she turns over..or the connections between the starter switch and the ignition switch.

·
Administrator
26,535 Posts
imported post

An 1100 did not come with that relay so it has been added on.
You need to check for power to either 85 or 86 on the relay and ground to the other. There may have been an inline fuse added to the wiring somewhere to the relay.

·
Premium Member
695 Posts
imported post