Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

Hello, everyone, I am a newcomer in the Goldwing world. I just bought an 1997 Aspencade in good working order. I am a technical translator, what with a bilingualk countryand I have held that job for about 10 years now. I plan to make use of my new steed with an association that organises240 miles runsevery saturday. And in time, I willgo to the US. So that's it for me.

However, the bike, while good to go, has some problems with theradio. Its volume is so weak at maximum that I can scarcely hear it at rest; I can't hear it at all at spped. I can hear it(barely ) at speed in Intercom mode. The automatic volume control seems to work, but even so, I can't help to think that an electric problem is the cause of this. Also, the cassette player does not work at all. It just won't open, and I dare not try to force it open. None of this is life threatening, and I understand that the OEM system puts out barely 25 watts, but even so, I should hear something when underway, should'n I? I will have to bring it the the dealer to replace the tires with Michelin Pilot GT, so I will ask the techs to look at the audio system as well. But I would appreciate any idea about what could be wrong with the audio system.

Thank you all, and I look forward to chat with you all.

·
Premium Member
3,391 Posts
imported post

Probably all that needs to be done is ensure that the wiring is clean and tight.
Over the years weather can cause corrosion on the connections.
I doubt you will find a tech with much more knowledge than you can glean from this site, of course he will be willing to take your money.
You will need to get your hands in and do a little learning.
I have a 1200 radio system which is somewhat different from the 1500

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post