Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

Recently purchased a 1993 Goldwing 1500 SE and the previous owner mentioned that this year had a reaccuring problem with no rear brakes, is this True? Well this bike has this problem. Confirm rear reserviour is serviced and pads look great. Have not tried to bleed brakes yet. Any suggestions in checfking what first before dismantling the bike since the bags prevent access.

John

·
Administrator
27,903 Posts
imported post

Never heard that one before. Of course the first thing to do is bleed it. The rear brake also works one of the front calipers, the left one on the 1500 I think so be sure to bleed it too.

·
Premium Member
12,868 Posts
imported post

:waving:Hello and Welcome .

I have only been riding my 1500 since June , so I am no expert on it for sure . I can tell you the rear brakes are linked to one front brake caliper , in what Honda calls a Unified Brake System . I believe the rear brake and left front caliper are the pair thats interconnected . When you use the brake pedal , some brake power is metered to the left front . So when you begin to bleed the brakes you should bleed the left front first and then the rear . I hope this helps .

·
The Irish Crew
3,932 Posts
imported post

Dave is right, first job is to try bleed the brakes and see if you are getting good fluid pressure at the caliper. If you are the. The pistons may be seized and not pushing out when you hit the brakes. Seized pistons are common if the Wing was laid up for long periods.

·
Premium Member
1,119 Posts
imported post

definately bleed the brakes thoroughly, make sure you bleed the banjo fitting on the handle barfirst, and then the entire system. also make sure there is nothing wrong with the caliper. sticking, hung up ect..

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post