Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Like a lot of GL1800 riders, I occasionally yearn to make minor adjustments to the rear shock while on the fly. Has anyone discovered a way to disconnect the appropriate leads to the speedo and neutral switch, negating the need to come to a complete stop before adjusting the shock?

If so, I'd love to hear about it.

Ride Safe

Paul

·
Premium Member
5,502 Posts
imported post

Nope, cannot help you with this one. Makes my brain hurt just to troubleshoot what is normal let alone try to redesign something.

I do not know why it is not adjustable on the fly. Have thought about that a couple times, do not think it would be a safety issue, must be a reason for it, but I do not know what it is.

Kit

·
Administrator
26,181 Posts
imported post

I studied this and I don't think it can be done by mere humans. The ECU for the suspension is inside the instrument cluster and receives signals from the speed sensor, neutral switch and reverse system internally, there are no external wires that can be disconnected without also loosing the speedometer, neutral and reverse lights. Dang it!!!!!!!!

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
imported post

OK....gotta ask...is there a way to accomplish this on the 1500 as well??

Thanks,
Joe

·
Senior Guru
4,293 Posts
imported post

I think if you intercept any one of the 3 wires coming out of speed sensor on speedo, and run it to a quality switch, that will do the trick. Flip the switch, adjust suspension, and flip the switch back, so the cruise, sound adjust, signal cancel, etc will continue to work. I've not done it myself, but I think I read somewhere that it works. Makes sense to me. Study the wiring schematic before attempting.

·
Administrator
26,181 Posts
imported post

All you would have to do on a 1500 is ground the green/yellow wire from the air pump relay.

·
Senior Guru
4,293 Posts
imported post