1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi:waving:

Like I said in my first post, I am new to motorcycle mechanic's! :baffled:

My GL1000 engine blew, a couple of weeks back! I suspect it's just the heads and at the worst I might need to fit new piston rings! I say this because She was loosing compression and leaking oil into number one pot spark plug hole, weeks before the heads blew.

I am also new to Cumbria (North West Lakes area) I haven't met many bikers or GL bikers in this area!:(

So is there anyone out there near or in the same area as me, who might like to give me a helping hand to get hmy trike back on the road?

Ride safe

Clive

RebuiltYorkie

PS I've got the original engine that blew, and I picked up an engine that's been involved in a bike fire (Scortched on outer caseing) I've been told it's come from a known runner, and just the wiring to the points and alternator that'll need replacing.

·
The Irish Crew
3,932 Posts
imported post

Clive, if it's only head gaskets you can easily do this yourself. Just get anyone who is handy with car engines to help, the GL1000 engine is similar to working on a car and with a Haynes book as well you can't really go wrong.

·
Premium Member
21,185 Posts
imported post

Hi Clive,