Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I recently installed a used "clean gas tank" on my bike and it is running rough. I would like to attempt to do my carbs but everyone I talk to tells me to let the professionals do it. I am an instrument mechanic by trade and am use to dealing with fine adjustments and the lot. Would I be getting in over my head? The other issue is that I can buy after market carb kits for $17 Can. or OEM kits for $54 Can. What would be the difference other than being gouged by Honda. What other parts would I need besides the carb kits? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Premium Member
45 Posts
imported post

Tommyrich,

You can do the job. The price alone:cooldevil:may provide you withthe incentive to do the job. Just take your time and do not be in any hurry. I purchased an 81 GL1100 that had been sitting idle for to years with no stabalizer added to the fuel. Needless to say the carbs were a mess. Getting the carbs off of the bike was more of a PITA than the actual cleaning. It is a tight fit and you need to be careful. First time I took them off took about 2 hours ( I had to take them off and put back on 5 times before I got mine cleaned correctly).