Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Administrator
27,886 Posts
Go to the how to videos and find the 1200 timing belt tutorial, the PGs are next to the crankshaft.

·
Premium Member
95 Posts
The pulse gens on the 84 are at the rear of the engine I dont think they were at the front untill the 1500 model

·
Premium Member
3,391 Posts
The pulse gens on the 84 are at the rear of the engine I dont think they were at the front untill the 1500 model
right on the 84..... 85+ gl1200's are located at the front with the timing belts... unless I have been changing something else out for the past 25 years

·
Junior Grue
8,153 Posts
The 84 was the only 1200 with pulse generators in the rear.
In 85 they were moved to the front.

·
Administrator
27,886 Posts

You are going to have to work pretty hard to catch me in a mistake like that. ;)

·
Premium Member
3,303 Posts
It is a pity that there is not a removable 'window' access panel in the rear of the 84 motor to get at these PG's.

·
Junior Grue
8,153 Posts
Thanks for the correction, shame I cant get my hands on an 85 motor!
Are you looking for a slightly easier fix if that 1:100,000 chance that you have a pulse generator failure happens or are you looking for the lower gearing of the post 84 1200's?:?:?

·
Premium Member
156 Posts
This is just a thought that might help someone out there sometime who is searching on the topic of pulse generators on the '84's.

I was having what looked like a problem with my pulse generators on a previous bike ('84 Interstate). After sweating the possibility of having to pull the motor to get at them, and wishing I had an '85-'87 with the PG's by the front pulley, I went in to change the timing belts and... there were the pulse generators right off the pulley.

Well, after a little investigative work it turns out unbeknowst to me, in the 25+ year history of the bike someone had swapped out the engine and put in an '87 motor.