Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Newbie here. Just got a GL1500. Really nice.

I'm thinking about a riders backrest. There appear to be at least two that are well respected. One is the Markland and the other is the Utopia. The Utopia requires a cut in the stock seat for the bracket, but looks pretty clean after its installed. The Markland doesn't requiring cutting the stock seat, but does have bars on either side of the seat and is not as clean looking after the install.

Which do all of you prefer? Anyone have specific experiences with each?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
21,185 Posts
imported post

No question about it, Utopia are awesome. Had one on the 15 and now have one on the 18. :clapper::clapper:

·
Premium Member
658 Posts
imported post

I have no idea what brand my backrest is, but it would be like the Markland with the bars. It is easy to install and easy to take off if you don't want it. It folds over so it's easy for the wife to swing her leg over. It's very comfortable and adjustable for a more layed back or forward position. Not a bad backrest.

·
Piled Higher and Deeper
4,513 Posts
imported post

SailorKane wrote:
....I'm thinking about a riders backrest. There appear to be at least two that are well respected. One is the Markland and the other is the Utopia. ....

Which do all of you prefer? Anyone have specific experiences with each?
Don't have a Utopia but my wife HATES the Markland!!! Won't ride until I take it off and that includes the attaching brackets... really bothers her legs... I get a backache without one so will be getting a Utopia as soon as I can part with the cash... tired of taking it off and on.. and riding 2-up with a back ache...

·
Goldwing Addict :-)
12,841 Posts
imported post