Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Still being a novice rider, I have very little experience riding in the rain...and the few times that I did ride in the rain, I didn't necessarily find it very enjoyable. But even with that said, I don't want to let a little rain keep me from getting out on the road. I'm working up the nerve to tackle my first road trip, and encountering rain would be a definite possibility. I probably don't have the high-end gear that some of you have, but I've been using my Foot Joy rain suit that I pulled out of my golf bag, and it's actually working pretty well. My biggest issue is visibility. I wear eye glasses and I prefer to ride with an open-faced helmet.. Do I need to go strictly with the full-face helmet on rainy days? Is there a way to keep the rain off of the visor? I also ride looking "over the windshield" if that matters. And is there anything that can be applied to these windshields like rain-x? I've read where rain-x is not good on these plastic windshields..

Any tips regarding riding in the rain would be GREATLY APPRECIATED..

Thanks

Chester Gunn/Chula, GA

·
Registered
106 Posts
imported post

Hi Chester,

Living in Florida I get to ride in the rain a lot (Yesterday). I keep a 3/4 shell helmet with a 1/2 shield on the bike in case of rain. AS far as Rain-X DONT use it on plastic. I have been cleaning my windshield every few days with Limon Pledgefor the last few months. It seems to really help the rain slide, run or whatever you want to call it.

My "High-End" rain suit is a $40.00 Frogg Thogg. Works good for me, as Ive been caught is some very bad down pours and my cloths are dry when I get where Im going.

Hope that helps,

·
Just another ORF!
8,189 Posts
imported post

I am in the same boat, as I wear prescription glasses, look over the top of the windscreenand prefer an open face helmet.