Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I'm new to motorcycling, and just got my first bike, a 1983 GL1100 Standard. It has 26,000 miles and a fairing and hard trunk. I've had it for about two months now, and am having a blast! Everything seems to be working great on it, it's always been garaged and doesn't leak or drip any juices on my garage floor. I've been reading the forum since i got the bike. I'm planning on replacing the timing belt this winter since i don't know when it was last replaced if ever. I am the type of person who likes to know everything about what i'm doing. Along with the forum, i'm reading "Proficient Motorcycling" and "More Proficient Motorcycling" and am planning on taking a motorcycle safety course in the spring.
Couple of questions for the old pro's that may sound stupid, but i still want to ask.
1.) Do i need to shut off the fuel when i turn if off, and why?
2.) My dad, whom i bought it off of told me to always choke it when i start it, even when the bike is warm, is this correct?
3.) Gonna have to buy tires in the spring, have read days worth of discussions about tires, but where do i have them put on at, cycle shop, do regular tire places do it?

Also any advice is more than welcome...josh

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
imported post

Turn the fuel off ( I do it every time) so you avoid the chance of a hydraulic lock (raw fuel in the cyclinders)

Choke a warm bike? I can not think of a good reason to do that.

bike shops do a good job of mounting and balancing ( usually) but where I live at least they want and arm and a leg for the tires. and if you want to mount them youself they gouge you to balance them.
I do it all myself

·
Registered
2,795 Posts
imported post

Rainman7585 wrote:
...1.) Do i need to shut off the fuel when i turn if off, and why?