Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
620 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hey Guys just found your site think its great jut buy going through the post I think you helped with things I have been having trouble with thanks a lot.

Iam haveing trouble shifting on my 86 1200ASP with about 20000 miles on it I was in the trans. last winter it all looked good nothing bent or broken all in spec. the only thing I found were sone out of round bushing that sat under the gears I replaced then all.I have to go back in the replace the back cover gasketbecause of a small oil leak. I was think on doing the clutch while I was in there. Any thoughts from all you wing nuts out their. While the motor is out I was going to do the wre harness from Dave Cambel have any of you out their used this harness.

Any help would be great

Thanks Koots

·
Premium Member
164 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the forum wingwarrior .

I am a newbie too but the gurus will answer your questions before you know it!

·
Premium Member
3,938 Posts
imported post

Hey Bro,

Would be helpful to explain what you mean by "Rough shifting" to help "Jason" figure it out, He's the Man!

Stiff getting it in gears, Have to double shift to get in, or Jsut loud clunks when it goes in ?

Sometimes if I "Pre-Load my shift it makes it much smoother!

By Pre-Load I mean I put a little pressure on the shifter before I pull in the clutch!

By the way where are you at in "Illinois?

·
Banned
596 Posts
imported post

Engine tuning problems can make them hard to shift, besides they are "clunky" anyway, I often just ignored the clutch and speed shifted it. Id think if you are good enough to take that engine apart and reassemble it, you probably would have found anything that was broken.

Clutch dragging? Should be able to set it on the main stand, run engine at idle in 1st gear, clutch in and stop the rear wheel by hand. I use a foot on the side of the tire to stop it.

·