Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,086 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Anyone been on one? Any recommendations? Thinking about signing up for a 2012 tour. I'd be riding first from Seattle to Chicago with mama then joining the tour. Usingour own scooter - not renting.

·
Premium Member
1,082 Posts
imported post

Google Rt 66. There is a lot of info and maps available. I have been looking into it for a trip my self. Much of the original route is gone but there is a lot for you to still see.

·
Pwhoever
3,182 Posts
imported post

My brothers and I have been talking about this trip now for a couple of years. It will have to wait until we can each set aside a couple of weeks to do it. There is a lot to see but like was mentioned, a lot of the original road is disappearing. There is a lot of info out there. One site offers a download that can be transferred to your GPS and offers turn by turn info for the entire route: http://www.historic66.com/gps/ and another site with a bunch of info: http://www.roadtripusa.com/routes/route66/route66.html.
IMHO, you want to pay attention to what time of year you take the trip as you will be traveling through desert country on the S/W leg and it might not be so pleasant in the middle of the summer....

·
Gregarious Greeter
16,809 Posts
imported post

Ever consider using the Lincoln Highway or The National Pike (rte 40) on your way to Chicago?

Real roads with real history that still mostly exist today.:waving:

·
Premium Member
10,253 Posts
imported post