Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

Are You Going On The "Run For The Wall" This Year?

• Yes, wouldn't miss it

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No way. Just too long of a trip

• Never heard of it.

• I'll consider it.

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
644 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I was wondering how many of you will be riding in the "2009 Run For The Wall"?

This is my first year and I'm totally pumped up and ready to ride. For those unfamiliar with this ride, they leave Rancho Cucamonga, CA and ride to Washington, DC in 10 days. Although you can join anywhere along the entire route, I'll be riding the entire route.

If you're unfamilar with this ride, go to http://www.rftw.org/and check it out.

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
59,716 Posts
imported post

Bob,

I wish I could join up with you, but not able to this year.

Maybe next year.

Enjoy your trip, and above all, be safe.

John

·
Premium Member
5,502 Posts
imported post

I do enjoy those rides and also the Trail of Tears. Where exasperated motorists sit at an intersection for three hours while bikes ride by. The comrade attitude, the bikes , the great days, and on the open road.

But not this year. I am going to make a spring run to Key West, and in the fall a run to Colorado.

Could be the next year though.

In this time of no common sense and desperate times for many. It is a spirit of America that I very much admire.

Kit

·
I am the Hobo
9,690 Posts
imported post

A bit far for me I think. Total respect to all who take the time to do this.

We now have a similar thing in the UK called Ride To The Wall.

The wall in question is at the National Arboretum and bears the name of every serviceman ( & woman) who has died on duty since the end of WWII.

Took a look last year whilst at the Rider's National Rallyand my Uncle's name is on there.

http://www.rttw.org/

http://www.nationalmemorialarboretum.org.uk/

They grow not old
As we that are left grow old