Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at a 98 SE to buy. The original owner converted it from pegs/ toe shifter to floorboards and a heel / toe shifter. It seems t me like they are not a proper fit. I've never used a heel toe before, but my foot either fits on top of the heel toe pegs, or my toes / ball of my foot hits the floor board. Shouldn't my foot fit flat on the floorboard then slide to the heel or toe shifter as needed? Would it be difficult to just convert it back to a peg and toe shifter? The foot brake pedal seem just as screwy, it has a back piece for your heel to sit on,looks likes second brake lever,but doesn't move. Neither side lets my foot sit flat on the floor board. The bike otherwise looks like it is in excellent shape, and well cared for. It's enough out of my comfortable budget I can still afford it, but spending money on new floorboards won't happen by the time I put I new fluids,etc.
thx.

·
Administrator
Piaggio MP3, was 02 GL1800
61,695 Posts
I have a '98SE with floorboards.

I tend to agree with you. Your feet 'will not' just slide to the shifter from the floorboards. You must lift your foot up and move it forwards or backwards to get onto the brake or shifter pedals.

I gave it 3,000 miles to get used to it.... I am pulling the floorboards off and going back to the OEM setup. I hate it that I can't control the footbrake in a right hand turn with power ON at slow speeds. Floorboards don't allow that kind of finesse.

·
Premium Member
1,025 Posts
Floorboards: EXACTLY What John said. Tried on mine when I got it. NO SLOW SPEED parking lot manuevering with those on the bike.

·
Premium Member
292 Posts