Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,818 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long time ago my wife used to say"maybe there is a short in the bulb" whenever a bulb was not working in someone's house and they couldn't find the problem

As an electrical contractor I dealt with a lot of situations where for a reason or another the bulb failed to work.
"There is never a short in the bulb" I explained to her,enumerating all other possibilities that cause a lighting circuit to fail.

As I explained in MY RED SCOOTER IS BLACK thread some kid stole my scooter. When I got it back I noticed the head lamp was not working.
Then I found the battery to be discharged.
I fully charged it but after starting the scooter a few times it would die. I measured the charging voltage with the battery removed and it was about half what it should be.
The problem, I thought, must be the alternator or rectifier (regulator) While running I measured the voltage of a wire which was supposed to be between 20V and 80v pending the RPM of the engine. It was 6V.
When I unplugged the alternator the voltage went up to 20 v while running. So I knew there is a short between alternator and rectifier.
I decided to play with all the switches while running and noted that with the switch in high beam position there was no short but with the low beam on the circuit was shorted. After checking the wire for a bit I decided to remove the bulb. Now regardless of the position of the switch there was no short.
I ran two wires straight from the battery and noticed that indeed the bulb was shorted on the low beam.I have changed the bulb and now the headlamp works and the battery is charging.
So after all these years my wife was right, there is such a thing as shorted bulb,

·
Registered
699 Posts
Overheard in High School Electronics class back in the day... "Hey - I found the problem with this TV - THE FUSE IS SHORTED!" :D