Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi everyone,just joined and need some advice. I've been riding Hondas for 40+ years but never had to work on them,always bought them new. Summer 2008 I sold my 750 Nighthawk and bought a 84 GL1200I from original owner with 24000 on it,always garage kept,looks as close to new as possible. I rode it for a few weeks and even though the oil didn't look bad I changed it and filter using Honda GNA4 10W-40SJ bought from Honda. I noticed it shifted easier(never was really hard) and the whining trans sound was noticably less. After about 3 rides I noticed that when cold the starter seems to work fine,but when warm the starter has trouble turning over the engine,I hold the starter button and the starter turns it over once,and then once more about every 1 to 2 seconds. It always starts on the 2nd or 3rd rotation but has me concerned if I'm out somewhere and it won't start. Can it be the oil? that's the only thing that was done and it started right after the change.

Thanks,

·
Premium Member
146 Posts
imported post

1200s have notoriously poor starters. I would bet yours needs to be rebuilt. Not wanting to turn over the hot engine is a good indicator that the starter has a build up of crud from worn brushes. You can get a rebuild kit from "E" bay for about $35 or a starter for around $125.

·
Premium Member
2,848 Posts
imported post

Sounds like typical tired starter syndrome. I would find the ground wire and clean that connection to the frame. This is often overlooked and can create a significant voltage drop. But after that odds are that you need to look at the starter.

·
Guru
3,074 Posts
imported post

Eh Rich, See if you can get a service history on your wing by the last owner. Ask him if he ever had a charging system problem & if he did, What did he do to correct it.

The 1200's have issues with weak stators but yours might have been replaced.