Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hey, I'm new to this whole motorcycle and posting thing!(I just established a login account tonight and I got my learners permit just this morning!)

I purchased a '86 GL1200 at the end of last summer from my friend's dad for $800. I rented a van and brought it back to my place from Butler Penn. (I live about 5 mins. from NYC)

A couple of weeks ago, I started it up after charging the battery and noticed some major smoke (the white kind coming from the engine). later I noticed that there was dripping coming from the head seal on the right and the smoke was coming from the oil collecting and burning off the header pipe.

I've read through some of the postings already and it looks like it could be a couple of things but it looks mainly like a head gasket replacement. Is this something I should spend some money and let a shop fix it or is it something a new tool set and some time may fix? My biggest concerns are that the shops right now are really busy and I'm itching to go smoke free riding ASAP. In addition I don't know how much a job like this should run.

Please advise and thanks, D.J. Oldwing

·
Premium Member
6,183 Posts
imported post

It would be easy enough to swap out head gaskets. And while you got the head off, you better put on some timing belts!

Good question is, do you have the tools, and are handy with them? Get you a shop manual and have at it. Just make sure plenty of times you have the timing belts lined back up correctly before you refire the engine. Last thing you need to do is to bend a valve.

And welcome to the board!

Raymond

·
Premium Member
879 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the forum oldwing. You picked quite a learners bike. When you get 'er running be careful out there. Cars pretend they don't see you. It's all a plot by the cagers to eliminate us bad bikers.

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post