Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I just bought my first bike it happens to be a 83 GL1100 Aspencade. Smoke just billows out of the exhaust like crazy. I am a diesel mechanic, so I am not quite sure what is going on with these kind of motors. Just looking for some tips and some idea as to where to start!!! Want to get it fixed ASAP would love to go riding!!!!

·
Registered
10,509 Posts
imported post

How much of the history of the bike do you know? Has it been sitting up for a while? Did it smoke before you bought it? What color is the smoke and does it have a sweet smell to it?

·
Premium Member
4,328 Posts
imported post

What color is the smoke..

white = water vapor..leaking head gasket maybe, does it smell sweet like antifreeze

Blue/black =oil bad valve guides or rings, etc.

gray/black..gas burn smell leaking or poorly adjusted carbs..

I think I have the colors right???

Good news..it could be something simple too, these bikes tend to blow some smoke on start up as the boxer engine tends to let oil collect on the left side when left on the side stand and it burns off after a few minutes.

So what color and what does it smell like..

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
imported post

At this time of year much of the smoke upon startup can be attributed to condensation. They will also smoke because of oil seeping past the rings and seals while sitting. If you can see if you can run it (or ride) and see if the smoke clears.

·
Premium Member
2,929 Posts
imported post

I had a friend rebuilding a mid-90's Ninja. He sent the engine to a nearby shop to hone the cylinder sleeves and replace the piston rings, as the compression was down on it.

He got the engine back, put it in the bike, got the bike together enough to start it up. He filled the crankcase with oil, put the battery in it, put the key in, and started it up.