Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I have been running Amsoil in my 1990 for about 2 years and This spring I went to Rotella.... then in fall I tried the Delo LE from Walmart...

I think it shifts much ....much smoother.

My friend has an 1800 and in researching I see everyone has their own thoughts.

Just wanted to get updated opinions and let everyone know my results with this oil...
:thumbsup:

·
Premium Member
6,132 Posts
imported post

Jury is still out on my 1200 LTD.

The first oil change I noticed an immediate improvement in shifting. I drove a long trip to Pa., and all was well, there and back. But for the next week or so, when I started it, it would smoke..... ALOT!!! I suspect, that there was some carbon build up from the long trip that needed to find it's way out. After a week or so however, right back to normal, no smoke on start up and shifting was ok.

Fast forward a month. Change the oil again, and head to Pa. again. Did well on the way up there, but on the way home had a hard time shifting, specially into 4th gear. Always had the most difficulty in 4th, but this time it was bad, would grind or just not go in gear at all, once it slipped back into third. Now that Im back home, all seems normal again.

I can't blame this solely on Delo however, since there were no long trips taken with another oil type. And I took the trip to Tennessee in between my Pa trips and had no ill effects on the bike from that trip. I feel it was because of the slower speeds and stop and go type driving versus highway driving.

·
Premium Member
1,424 Posts
imported post

pretty much depends on how beat up your tranny is...i would go with a golden spectro mix if you want to go 1/2 syn..and pay for it$..but full syn will get your tranny sooner or later...id go with a little secret!...rotella or delo dino...most responsible riders change at 1,2,3,k anyway

·
Premium Member
24 Posts