Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

I've been band-aiding my 3 yellow wires for several thousand miles by using crimp-on connectors. I check them regulalry and replace as soon as resistance shows itself as burned insualtion. I realize this is not the solution (and never expected it to be).

While my day job is in finance, I am fairly adept with tools and can wield a torque wrench with the best of them. I've wired whole houses and sweated 1000's of copper plumbing connections with no sweat (hmm, no pun!). But, I do brek out in a sweat at the thought of soldering wires together and have never been successful: at best, the solder balls up and rolls off the twisted wire like water beads up on a fresh wax job. As a kid, I used to get HeathKit radio kits and use glue to hold wires together after failing for days to get solder to stick to even a single connection.

Yea, I know, I can see the grins, but seriously, is there some site I can go to that tells me how to successfully solder wires together?

Thanks,
Curt

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
imported post

Curt Miller wrote:
I've been band-aiding my 3 yellow wires for several thousand miles by using crimp-on connectors. I check them regulalry and replace as soon as resistance shows itself as burned insualtion. I realize this is not the solution (and never expected it to be).