Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Please give me some advice . I have a chance to buy a 1987 interstate with 33000 miles on it for 4200.00 US dollars. The owner said he has replaced the stator and the bike looks like new. He did say he had trouble getting the bike to turn over until he purchased a new battery. I rode it and it seems fine, but I am new to goldwings.The raido etc does not work. there is a piece of something missing that covers where the windshield and faring meet. He said he replaced the windshield.

Now honestly should I buy this or a 2001 concours with 20000 K for the same money.I know the technology on both is mid 80's but there is a huge difference in the years. They both will tour and most if not all of my riding will be one up.

I know this is a goldwing site, but who better to ask about an older goldwing that you guys.

Thanks, Jim

·
Premium Member
1,088 Posts
imported post

Jim, the Goldwing and the Kawasaki Concours are completely different bikes. You really need to like Goldwings to go and buy one, especially as things like radios not working can be expensive to repair. :)

·
Premium Member
241 Posts
imported post

I'm new to Goldwings too, I got a steal on mine I bought an 87 Interstate plane jane no radio or anything in excelent mechanical condition with new Dunlop Elite on rear and new battery. Stator was changed and everything was sweet machanically. It was stored under and awning so it hase some surface rust and needed to be cleaned up. It had 74K on it and I got it for only 1000, told my neighbor it was worth 2500 to 3000 but he sold it to me for 1000. Wouldn't have paid much more than 3000 for it though. This is just my opinion on this though. Kind of sounds like he's asking a high price for it. From what I've seen it looks like you could get an Aspencade with loaded for that kind of money. Good Luck.

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts