Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I'm a newbie with a '82 GL1100A with 18,000 miles. I just picked it up last fall after a 10 year sit in a garage, and did all the recommended stuff such as; change all the fluids, rebuilt the carbs, replaced the timing belts, new rubber, and refurbished the rusted tank. It has been running good and strong (though, I don't have anything to compare it to) until I just changed the plugs for its spring tune up. Now it intermittently seems to lack power and makes a noise like it might be missing on one cylinder. I'm getting ready to try another set of plugs since that was the last thing I did, and was wondering what would the effect be of changing the heat range..... colder verses hotter... etc. Can anyone explain to me what effects a hotter or colder plug has on a gl100 and on performance? Thanks. Jeb

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
imported post

[email protected] wrote:
I'm a newbie with a '82 GL1100A with 18,000 miles. I just picked it up last fall after a 10 year sit in a garage, and did all the recommended stuff such as; change all the fluids, rebuilt the carbs, replaced the timing belts, new rubber, and refurbished the rusted tank. It has been running good and strong (though, I don't have anything to compare it to) until I just changed the plugs for its spring tune up. Now it intermittently seems to lack power and makes a noise like it might be missing on one cylinder. I'm getting ready to try another set of plugs since that was the last thing I did, and was wondering what would the effect be of changing the heat range..... colder verses hotter... etc. Can anyone explain to me what effects a hotter or colder plug has on a gl100 and on performance?